Act Your Age, Eve Brown by Talia Hibbert || ARC Review

Act Your Age, Eve Brown by Talia Hibbert

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release Date: March 9th, 2021

Add to your shelf on Goodreads

In Act Your Age, Eve Brown the flightiest Brown sister crashes into the life of an uptight B&B owner and has him falling hard—literally.

purple pen and squiggle divider

E-ARC provided by the publisher.

Talia Hibbert’s The Brown Sisters Series was my introduction to romance last year, or at least the introduction that made me excited to actually read more romances from different genres that I would enjoy. Her books are cute, fun, and never fail to make me laugh out loud. The final book in the series, Act Your Age, Eve Brown is probably my favorite of all three. If you read and enjoyed the previous two books, then this is a must-read.

As many other reviewers have said, this book is nothing short of delightful. There really isn’t a better word for the reading experience of Eve Brown. I loved Eve and Jacob, both as independent characters and as a couple. Their seemingly opposite personalities make reading about their interactions so enjoyable. Jacob is grumpy and very particular about how he runs his bed and breakfast, while Eve can best be described as whirlwind of a human trying her best. Their banter had me smiling throughout the story and those steamy scenes…yeah they were quite steamy.

Talia Hibbert is amazing at writing characters and relationships with emotional depth. There is always something outside of the relationship that the main characters are working through and that they come to solutions to with the support of their love interest, and not because of their love interest. I am always immensely impressed with how she wraps up her stories and the development of her characters, which is definitely also the case with Eve and Jacob.

Although I can’t speak on this book’s representation, I will say that it was very interesting to read from the perspective of characters exploring how they function in the world and whose talents are strengthened by their backgrounds. Jacob’s diagnosed autism and Eve’s discovering of her autism were well written in my opinion as someone who has not dealt with either of those things.

I especially liked seeing Eve come into her own and become more comfortable navigating the world independently. I could definitely relate to the struggle of not feeling “adult enough” despite your age and I very much enjoyed seeing that struggle depicted in a romance. And Jacob is everything I could want in a romantic hero, with difficulties of his own that he works through. Ultimately, they both work on their relationship (even if that third act romance novel misunderstanding is present and is a little annoying) and arrive at a sweet, satisfying conclusion.

Some out of context things to expect from Act Your Age, Eve Brown

  • Lots of music.
  • Cozy, English countryside B&B vibes.
  • Cute cameos of characters from past books.
  • 100% amazing slogan t-shirts via Eve.
  • Ducks.

Final Thoughts

I have found bits of myself in every one of the Brown Sisters. I’m sad that the series will be coming to an end with this book, but I’m excited for whatever Talia Hibbert has cooking for us next! Also, please check out OwnVoices reviews to get a different perspective on this book! I will leave off with one tip for you if you are anxiously waiting for Act Your Age, Eve Brown to release on March 9th! Take a listen to Corinne Bailey Rae’s debut album. It has been one of my favorites since I was a kid and I feel like it’s a great soundtrack to the story. “Breathless” has a little role in the book and it was so, so perfect for the scene it pops up in. Where are our Brown Sisters movies at already?!

9 thoughts on “Act Your Age, Eve Brown by Talia Hibbert || ARC Review

  1. I’ve heard such great things about this author! I’m glad to see how much you liked this book, and cozy english countryside vibes sounds perfect! I will definitely be checking out this series soon.

    Like

  2. Ahhh I’m so excited for this one! Not only because I love the Brown sisters, but also because the covers are absolutely adorable and I can’t wait to have all three lined up on my shelves 😅 So happy that you loved this! ♥

    Like

Leave a comment