February Wrap-Up || In a Bit of a Slump

So, I have finally sat down to finish up my February wrap-up! These past couple weeks I have not been able to concentrate on much of anything related to books. (Shoutout to audiobooks for being the main reason I’ve read anything!) The dreaded slump has indeed induced itself upon my brain. I’m really trying to get over it and focus, but with March marking an entire year of this worldwide pandemic, I’m not really counting on it anytime soon. I’m trying to give myself a bit of a break. We’ll see how that works out! For now, here are the books I read last month plus some other little tidbits.

purple pen and squiggle divider

blue banner with "books" in cursive

Your Favorite Band Cannot Save You by Scotto Moore: This is not a book for everyone considering how truly bizarre it is. I randomly picked up this short sci-fi novella from the library stacks and devoured it in one night. Subversive and weird and completely amazing! It reminded of the obsession and fanaticism that can come with loving music and the wild, sometimes even violet passion of crowds at concerts I’ve been to. It made me miss live music in a really weird way.

Honey Girl by Morgan Rogers: I. Love. This. Book. Check out my full review here.

Legendborn by Tracy Deonn (Legendborn #1): I buddy-read this book with Liza at The Inharmonious Heroine and I’m super glad we chose this book. The depth of this story, the commentary on class and race woven into the systems of magic…mindblowing to be honest. My one main gripe was the romance, but please ignore me and read this book because it is truly amazing.

Concrete Rose (The Hate U Give #0) : I don’t want to spoil anything about this, but it was very refreshing and I enjoyed reading a book from the perspective of Starr’s dad.

Familiar Things by Hwang Sok-yong, translated by Sora Kim-Russell: Another random pickup from the library that turned out to pleasantly surprise me. This short book follows a young boy and his mom as they adjust to moving and working at Flower Island, Seoul’s vast landfill. I was enthralled reading this story and may or may not have shed some tears for these characters. A truly thought-provoking read.

Gray Hair Don’t Care by Karen Booth (Never Too Late #1): A light, fluffy read that may or may not have been enhanced by me casting Keanu Reeves as the love interest in my mind. I mean look at that cover! It is so him.

Spoiler Alert by Olivia Dade: I have never actually read fanfiction, but this book made me want to. I enjoyed it, even if I couldn’t exactly buy that anyone other than another celebrity would be totally cool as a cucumber dating an actor on the hottest show on television. The thing I most enjoyed about this romance was the deeper discussion of parental relationships and accepting oneself when maybe a parent doesn’t.

Fat Chance, Charlie Vega by Crystal Maldonado: Hmmmm this was a tough one for me to rate because while I really enjoyed it at the start, I felt like several aspects of the story could have been developed more. I also didn’t know this was a romance-heavy book, so that’s my fault.

Breathless by Beverly Jenkins (Old West #2): (3.5) I liked this, just not as much as the first in the series. I’m excited to see how I feel about the next book, though!

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo: I read this for the show, but it seemed pretty basic to me and I was bored… I’m not sure if I’ll continue the series or just watch the show on it’s own for the SoC crew.

No Ratings

The Magical Language of Others by E. J. Koh and Floating in a Most Peculiar Way by Louis Chude-Sokei: I didn’t rate these books as they are both memoirs. They were quite impactful though, with some tough subjects so beautifully written. I would really recommend listening to short memoir audiobooks, they are a great way to quickly learn about different cultures and people outside of your own experiences.

blue banner with "journal" in cursive

Here’s my journal spread for the month of March! My investment in a mini ruler has really upped my calendar game! I’m trying to put to use all of my stickers and stationary. Everything pictured is from Daiso, Kinokuniya Books, and Violette Stickers. I will never not be grateful to have so many stationary options easily available where I’m from.

blue banner with "TV and Movies" in cursive

Yes, I finally jumped onto the Julie and the Phantoms train and I am nothing short of obsessed. Where’s the merch? Where’s the Julie and the Phantoms glitter t-shirts and canvas pencil cases?! I want Camp Rock level merchandise to satiate my need to endlessly represent my love of this show and all of its characters. Just kidding…kind of. But really, when will this show be renewed?! When?!?!?

I am late to the Downton Abbey train as well, but oh how I’m glad that I can just watch every season one after the other. I used to think this was just another English period piece, but I have come to the conclusion that I am, in fact, a glutton for any and all period pieces. I don’t know what I’ll do once I’ve finished it, it’s just so so good! Perhaps just find another period drama to become obsessed with.

Right now I am desperately trying to read more than one chapter of Chain of Iron a day, which is annoying considering how much I have anticipated it’s release. Hopefully this slump leaves me soon. Sitting down and actually writing this post is seeming to help restart my brain a little! What book are you currently reading? Do you have any other period drama suggestions for when I finish Downton Abbey? How are you doing in general? Let me know, I’d love to hear!

 

 

5 thoughts on “February Wrap-Up || In a Bit of a Slump

  1. We’re in the same boat! I’ve had a huge reading slump ever since January and it just doesn’t seem to pass… But you still managed to read a lot of books, so kudos to you!
    I’ve never heard about Familiar Things, but you made me want to read it. Hopefully my library has it.
    Ahh, Downton Abbey! I loved the first few seasons, but for some reason I never finished it! I’m glad you found it and enjoy it!

    Like

  2. I hope you get out of your slump soon! I know, the pandemic has been so nerve wrecking. In India we have been hit by the second wave of Covid. A month back I was thinking about how I would be going back to college, but now I don’t think I would be stepping foot in my college before I graduate!

    Like

    1. That’s so tough! Many people I know also won’t be able to go back to school for their graduation here in the US. There is a lot to be grateful for, but it is still disappointing.

      Like

Leave a comment